12
Apr
09

Bird’s of a Feather Tattoo (Update)

photography-tattoo-Birds of a Feather-Sheishere-SwittersB

Birds of a Feather by Sheishere at DeviantArt

“Artist’s Comments

My newest tattoo.Thanks for all the favorites and comments!Side note: I did not draw this. I found it randomly online. Someone commented on the fact that it was from threadless.com, so credit goes to them for the idea!”    (Sheishere comment)

Ashley’s Memorial Tattoo

SWITTERSB’s NEW TATTOO

BUCKY’S PEACOCK BIRD TATTOO…COOL

————————–

Shorty wrote to explain his decision to display the Feather tattoo on his body (left bicep): Shorty has “diabetes type 1 .. and under the feather it writes “life is a waving feather” .. 21 bird are the 21 years that pased in my life .. and this tat should mean I’ve decided to grow and be a better man :D”

Shorty’s Feather tatoo

“life is a waving feather”

Yes another version of this cool tattoo:

birds of feather

Ninja James Tattoo (Birds of a Feather)

Shooting Head’s Feather Tattoo Compilation

82 Responses to “Bird’s of a Feather Tattoo (Update)”


  1. 1 Kev
    November 21, 2013 at 2:24 AM

    That’s really good!

  2. September 4, 2013 at 5:01 PM

    When a blogger becomes a loyal follower and you become a fan of theirs, it is special. I think we are there, Switter…thanks fro reading ! beebeesworld

  3. July 15, 2013 at 8:25 PM

    Thanks for reading my “Writing ” article switter b

  4. May 31, 2013 at 2:10 AM

    Hi and thanks for stopping by my blog. Have a great weekend! Hugs to you…Paula xxx

  5. May 17, 2013 at 7:32 PM

    Thanks for continuing to read my blogs, Switter, I alwys check yours out as well. best wishes, beebee

  6. April 23, 2013 at 5:12 AM

    My friend is a huge fan of tattoos. She just collects them “in theory” and not on her body yet–she doesn’t have enough canvas for them all. Would you mind if I shared this with her?

    Also, thanks for visiting “on celebrating Earth day”. I think I got three hours of sleep the night before, so I’m glad it’s not entirely nonsensical.

    • April 23, 2013 at 7:45 AM

      Absolutely Hannah. Thank you for visiting and best wishes with the process!!! The photo also caught my eye as possibly Crater Lake, Oregon in the back ground.

  7. April 21, 2013 at 10:58 PM

    Thanks for stoping by my blog or even finding it since I put it under the wrong name.

  8. 14 rebecca
    April 21, 2013 at 10:14 PM

    I’d like to note that Joseph Morgan the famous actor has this tattoo

  9. April 7, 2013 at 9:36 AM

    Thank You for following me !!! *Cynthia

  10. April 2, 2013 at 2:30 PM

    I have one tat — a treble and bass clef that form a heart — on top of my right foot. My husband and I are both musicians. I love seeing beautiful tats and will someday get another …

  11. April 2, 2013 at 12:19 AM

    I really don’t like tattoos, but even I would have to say that this is beautiful. Thank you for your visit. Best wishes.

  12. March 23, 2013 at 7:27 PM

    Thank you for visiting my blog today. I appreciate the time you took to stop by. May your day be filled with joy and peace.
    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  13. March 19, 2013 at 7:58 AM

    As an artist ( sculpture, paints) I love this tattoo! The concept is beautiful, such a clever idea!

  14. 25 Tara
    August 9, 2012 at 10:33 PM

    I love this! I am wanting to get a similar one to represent me being able to put my past behind me. I’m ready to let go and move on with my wonderful life. It makes me feel stronger to be able to know that I will never have to go through my past ever agin :)

    • August 10, 2012 at 6:42 AM

      That sounds like a perfect idea. When the tat has significant meaning to you it will never become one of those ‘now what was I thinking?’ moments. Meaningful forever.

  15. 27 ally
    July 20, 2012 at 12:40 PM

    im planning on getting a tattoo like one of these soon, and im putting a quote with it that says “only the ones who have fallen will learn how to fly” :)

  16. 28 Genessis
    June 14, 2012 at 12:12 PM

    I am getting a tat similar to this too! Mine is a Native American feather symbolizing my grandfather and the birds symbolise freedom for him and freedom for me from the pain of his death. It makes me think happy thoughts :)

  17. 30 Michaela
    May 16, 2012 at 7:57 PM

    In 27 I just got 3 birds flying on my shoulder blade and to me this means a lot. I grew up with an abusive dad and not a good relationship with my mom so as each bird spreads its wing more and more it symbolizes me growing up and moving on and going my own way. And I love this tatoo so much. Anyone have any suggestions about tattoos about strength ?

  18. 31 Jessica
    May 7, 2012 at 8:04 PM

    When I first saw this tattoo i felt in love with it, i want to get it on my back, with a quote that represent life, enjoying every moment because each second of our lifes are counted. For me, the feather represent life and the birds represents the seconds, the days and the years flying away

  19. 33 Lindsey
    April 24, 2012 at 11:38 AM

    Im planning on getting a variation of this tattoo as a tribute to my uncle who fought a lifetime of depression and ended it by taking his own life. The only comfort now is knowing he is no longer suffering and thy is what the birds flying away represents for me. The freedom from his life of pain.

  20. 35 Nidia
    March 13, 2012 at 1:12 AM

    I love this tattoo! I am going to get that tattoo on my ribs, with the birds flying towards my back. I will have a quote that says “Let your dreams take wing”. I want some of the birds to turn into music notes and stars. Now I am just looking for a good artist in my area to do the tattoo justice.

  21. 37 trisha
    January 21, 2012 at 3:15 PM

    Thanks for posting mine also…… the tat has so much meanibg to me and I appreciate u telling the story behind it!

  22. January 18, 2012 at 9:57 PM

    omg i really love this tattoo.. i wanna get it.. the birds remind me of FREEDOM! <3

    • January 19, 2012 at 4:28 AM

      Stacy,

      I think that is one of the beauties of this tattoo…it has several impressions/possible meanings. Should you get it in the future check back with an update please.

      SB/GM

  23. 40 trisha
    January 15, 2012 at 4:11 PM

    Where can I send u a photo of my feather tat similar…….

  24. 41 SweetHeartBunny
    November 3, 2011 at 6:09 PM

    can you please tell me how much it cost for you to get it?

    • November 3, 2011 at 6:25 PM

      SHB….My experience is an estimate, which varies cross country, a consultation may be $40-60 on average. The actual tat work can vary at $125-150 per hour. Often your initial consultation fee can go toward the the total cost. Most competent artist will know how many hours you are looking at. Ornate work may take multiple sessions of say 2-3 hours each session. An detailed, project will push a $!000. The Peacock tats would fall at $600. I bet….(multiple feathers/peacock eyes). Hope that helps

  25. 43 Jessica
    August 25, 2011 at 4:55 PM

    I will have this tattoo soon, not exactly this way. For me it represent the life, like a hourglass, i will write Life is now or never, …………… don’t waste time to put off till to-morrow

  26. 45 kristine asuncion
    July 28, 2011 at 11:59 PM

    wow.I love the last tattoo/ the other version of the original tattoo. I was thinking of getting it on my calf. in memory of my mom.

  27. 47 JusSayin
    June 12, 2011 at 7:28 PM

    http://www.threadless.com/product/1160/Birds_Of_A_Feather/tab,guys/style,shirt

    Submitted December 2007. Might want to give credit to arzie13. Just saying.

  28. 48 angel
    June 5, 2011 at 4:32 PM

    how much did someone pay for the first tattoo on this page?

    • 49 SwittersB
      June 6, 2011 at 6:40 AM

      Angel…I cannot speak to the Peacock feather tattoo’s cost. In my neck of the woods (NW) a consultation fee ranges around $40-50 (there a few obnoxious ones at $100+); then the tat work usually prices out at $125 to 150 an hour. The original consultation fee is added to the final tab as a rule, if they are a well intentioned shop. Any tip above that is up to you.

        I am not up to speed on the pricing in other parts of the country.
  29. 50 Jenny
    May 25, 2011 at 9:32 AM

    hello, i love this tatto so much, i was thinking of getting it done on my foot, do u think that would work?

    • 51 SwittersB
      May 25, 2011 at 1:27 PM

      Would be a very beautiful spot, assuming not much friction there over time with footwear. If you do that, please share!

    • 52 SwittersB
      May 27, 2011 at 9:26 PM

      A quick search on SwittersB and on Googles Images will reveal a pic of a Peacock feather on the side/top of a foot. Quite pretty, appealing.

  30. 53 A.melo
    April 7, 2011 at 9:07 AM

    i fell in love with this tat. the 1st time i seen it. about 4 years ago. now I’m old enough to finally get it. i will be getting it today or 2morrow.. :D

    my meaning(s): it shows all the different parts the takes to make a whole.. all the different qualities that make me who i am..

    ** it also represents how much of a free spirited person that i am.

    i will b changing a few things to make it more “me”..

  31. 54 rob
    September 24, 2010 at 6:37 PM

    i got that tattoo on my back.,.,it represent to me, the people that i have lost in my life,.,.,

  32. 55 Josefa
    March 11, 2010 at 3:25 PM

    Hi i saw this tattoo and i fell in love with it, i have a tattoo on the back of my neck with my sister’s name around a butterfly that she drew before she died and i would love to get this tattoo on my lower back with the birds flying towards my sister tattoo.

  33. 57 David Haughton
    February 6, 2010 at 7:44 AM

    Love this tattoo, will be taking it to my tattooist soon to price up, its exactly the thing ive been looking for, im going to add something to it though so its a little different, if i get it done can i add the photo here?

    • 58 SwittersB
      February 6, 2010 at 7:56 AM

      We would be most appreciative. Send us a piece on your vision and information about the artist as well to enhance their business. Thanks David.

      • 59 David Haughton
        February 8, 2010 at 4:17 AM

        ok so i had planned to go to Harrogate to North Star, today (UK, England) but they are closed so ill be going next Sunday. My idea is to have a single bird breaking off from the main body of the feather for each family member that has passed away. Above the feather i will have “Fly on proud bird” and below i will have “you’re free at last”. A quote from a poem from a lead singer about one of his band members that had passed on.

  34. 61 shorty
    December 28, 2009 at 5:17 AM

    Hey. Got those photos .. how can I share them? Thnx again

  35. 62 erica
    December 18, 2009 at 6:40 AM

    i loved this so much that i got it tattooed on my thigh. its beautiful

  36. 64 Arildsen
    November 29, 2009 at 5:57 AM

    Hi! what an awesome design, where did you find the original print?

    best regards

  37. 66 Katelyn
    November 26, 2009 at 10:44 PM

    hey i was thinking about getting this in the middle of my back but i wanted to make sure it was ok. it will represent my brother who is currently in the airforce and growing up so fast. it will just remind me he’s always with me. i hope thats ok! its so beautiful!!

    • 67 SwittersB
      November 26, 2009 at 11:46 PM

      Hello Katelyn…Yes, it is beautiful and full of different interpretations. Note Sheishere (Kelly) borrowed the concept (see her comments) and it has been borrowed further….have at it and send me a pic when done…I will post here…do a little bio re bro and your motivation to honor him….very beautiful thing for sister to consider.

      SB/GM

  38. 68 shorty
    October 26, 2009 at 7:08 AM

    Hey. I love this tattoo, I look to the picture every day. What is the meaning for u? In my head it represents the time passing ..

    • 69 SwittersB
      October 26, 2009 at 7:18 AM

      I believe Parts of the Whole. Are the Birds Flying Away From The Whole? Or, Flying Toward to Assemble the Whole? Pretty cool concepts and can be whatever someone wants I spose…your vision is cool too….

      • 70 shorty
        November 9, 2009 at 2:42 AM

        Hey! Just got this tattoo on my left arm, if it’s ok to u I’ll come with a picture of it when it’s healed. I never tought about parts of a whole vision .. it has lot’s of meanings. Thnx. Bye

  39. 73 Erika
    October 12, 2009 at 5:05 PM

    I just got this tattooed on my side today (: I really hope you don’t mind. I think it’s beautiful.

  40. 75 jessica
    October 5, 2009 at 10:47 AM

    hey that is really creative.. what does it represent/mean?

  41. 76 sarah
    September 17, 2009 at 10:32 AM

    hey how much did this cost you? it’s gorgeous. simply stunning

  42. 77 Melissa
    September 15, 2009 at 9:25 PM

    hey what does it mean. it is beautiful

  43. 78 amanda
    September 8, 2009 at 8:15 AM

    wow how much was this. its awesome

  44. 79 dylan
    September 7, 2009 at 12:27 PM

    wow i want to get that tattoo now! thats great.. id make a couple tiny changes though

  45. 80 cassy
    August 10, 2009 at 2:19 PM

    hey =] thats a rlly beautiful tattoo.

  46. October 20, 2012 at 8:13 AM

    Identify the artist you want to do it. This may entail online study, going into a shop and looking at each artist’s book of work, then once you identify likely candidate(s) show them a photocopy of your tattoo. Now some artists may steer you off into their vision and away from what you really want. You cannot be shy. Speak up and reach and understanding or move on. Consultations can run, in my area for example, $40. You have to call and schedule a consultation if they are the busy type. Or, you could walk in with the artist there and not inking and get the consultation then. Either way it may cost $40., which should go toward the total cost. Some artist charge you a drawing fee ($50.to $100.) and this should go toward the total costs. And, finally the cost can range from $125. to $175. per hour. So that piece of art you like…I would presume to estimate how long it will take. I would venture into it with $300-500. in hand and some people tip the artist after (I have). Take especially good care of it afterwards. I will cycle through narly looks for several weeks. That is normal. Scaling, bleeding, flaking, drying is all normal. No picking at scabs or flakes. No harsh ointments or creams. Clean hands. Best wishes. The above advice may vary in pricing in your area.


Leave a Reply

Below @ “The Past” you can search back to 2008 month by month

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Welcome to SwittersB & Fly Fishing. Please Share, Comment & Like Away!

Please subscribe just below. Use the Search box to search topics.

Enter your email address to subscribe to the SwittersB blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,085 other followers

The Past

Dutch Meyers Said…….

"Fight 'til hell freezes over, then fight 'em on the ice." Search Box Below

Award

SwittersB Visitors Stopping By

228!!! Countries Visiting SwittersB~Thank You!!!

free counters

Blog Stats: There are lies, damn lies and statistics

  • 3,513,386 Visits/Views (WP Original Stat~Pre Flag Counter Stats)

SwittersB’s Map of Visitors (Fun) Open and Click Here on the Map

Swittters Twitters

Sic Semper Tyrannis

There’s No Accounting For Taste; Search the Blog for Much More. Thanks for Visiting!


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,085 other followers