15
Mar
10

Moles & Malignant Melanoma

Today at work, I noticed a young lady was wearing one of those support boots one wears after surgeries or sports injuries. I asked the usual ‘what happened to you?’ She hesitated, then offered an interesting story with flags for us all…she was bitten by a hobo spider on the ankle. Her leg swelled up and she headed to the ER. The ER doc looked at the bite and was concerned, but when he looked at the mole on her ankle, he was more than concerned. This young lady had noticed that odd mole on her left ankle for some time and was a bit annoyed with the occasional itch. A followup to a skin doc and tests confirmed the suspicions of the alert ER doc: a malignant melanoma. Invasive surgery resulted and so far they do not believe there was any permanent nerve damage or cancer. Time and rehab will tell.

A young (27 y/o) lady, not a sun worshipper, developed a mole on her ankle and but for a spider bite probably would not have received the immediate attention and successful intervention. Visit a skin doctor re any suspicious moles or skin oddities.

‘Malignant melanomas take the lives of more than 8,000 Americans a year, or about 13.5 percent of the people diagnosed with the disease, the Skin Cancer Foundation reports. Other forms of skin cancer are rarely fatal, although squamous-cell carcinoma can metastasize and result in death. But the situation isn’t bleak. If detected early, 99 percent of all skin cancers are curable.’ Skin Cancer

10 Responses to “Moles & Malignant Melanoma”


  1. March 24, 2014 at 5:46 PM

    You just followed my blog and as I was checking out yours, this title caught my eye. I had surgery (2) in the last month for malignant melanoma, though mind didn’t look like your pictures. I had lentigo malignant melanoma — which is basically a sunspot. I had had it examined regularly, but this time it had gone over to the dark side. It is now gone, I am sunscreen queen and will be checked every few months for several years. That’s the bad news. The good news is hat mine was a stage ZERO and if you’re gonna get cancer, that’s what you hope it will be.

    You never know what to expect in life — but this is something you can look out for and is easy to get rid of in the early stages.

    Good post, and I’m glad to meet you!

  2. March 23, 2014 at 3:22 PM

    Australia has the highest rate of Melanoma in the world. I have had 14 moles removed, 12 of which turned out to be dysplastic nevi. I was being proactive as there is a lot of cancer in my family. And then three years ago I had breast cancer. Be vigilant people!! Thanks for the post, we can’t be reminded enough.

  3. February 22, 2014 at 6:31 PM

    Thanks for reading my blogs, Switter, What else do you do beside tie flies and fish? beebee

    • February 22, 2014 at 6:40 PM

      Well I just retired in January so I am figuring out exactly what I will be doing: photography, remodeling house (I cover that over on Hoarding Woes & You blog), a little travel and mostly figuring out life without work and kids. Grandchildren now and then, volunteering for food bank and planting trees group. Reclaiming health a bit and trying to refocus priorities now. Love gardening, camping, cooking, blogging, travel, fly fishing and tying. Not much of a writer like you. The imagination and smarts for writing and poetry not developed. Art is only via a camera.

  4. February 18, 2014 at 6:27 PM

    This is an important topic. Thanks for helping us be aware of waht to look for in moles. beebeesworld

  5. 9 SwittersB
    March 16, 2010 at 5:45 AM

    Jen, Jen…you sound like you have convertible envy :-) I have to admit to sun worship. Last year when I found myself in front of a TV camera and harsh lights, the toll of sun damage was painfully obvious. I have two spots on my forehead that never quite heal. Dermatologist said they are precancerous..like the one on my clavicle. Not so much vanity (maybe a little), as I just feel better being out in the sun. Time to take stricter precautions.

    GM/SB

    • 10 SwittersB
      March 16, 2010 at 12:39 PM

      Well, funny you should mention that…last year, I used some dermatologist provided sunscreen, like PF 100 stuff and applied it onto my face. As the afternoon wore on the sunscreen made its way into the corner of my eye. Soon I was in horrible pain and I swear the product scorched the outside corner of my eye. I had a horrible sore for the duration of the trip. I would opt for tear free or whatever they call it sunscreen so sweating, eye rubbing or by whatever means contact with the eye does not cause such an incapacitation.


Leave a Reply

Below @ “The Past” you can search back to 2008 month by month

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Welcome to SwittersB & Fly Fishing. Please Share, Comment & Like Away!

Please subscribe just below. Use the Search box to search topics.

Enter your email address to subscribe to the SwittersB blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,098 other followers

The Past

Dutch Meyers Said…….

"Fight 'til hell freezes over, then fight 'em on the ice." Search Box Below

Award

SwittersB Visitors Stopping By

228!!! Countries Visiting SwittersB~Thank You!!!

free counters

Blog Stats: There are lies, damn lies and statistics

  • 3,514,506 Visits/Views (WP Original Stat~Pre Flag Counter Stats)

SwittersB’s Map of Visitors (Fun) Open and Click Here on the Map

Swittters Twitters

Sic Semper Tyrannis


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,098 other followers