Well, as I was driving to work this morning, I thought about this pending challenge topic ‘something completely different. I free flow with thoughts any way as I’m driving to work. Don’t ask me why but first I thought about the origin of fly pattern names. Tonya Harding was on the radio wailing away about her new born son (poor kid)…so I thought about a pattern called the Tonya Harding or the Train Wreck or the Knee Capper or White Trash. The light was green and an impatient type behind me honked to get moving. 

At the next intersection I contemplated why Portlandians set stuffed furniture outside on the curb as a donation. It has set in the rain. I never see anyone deposit/dump this furniture so they must shamefully do it under the cover of darkness. Also, I have never seen anyone take the furniture, yet it disappears…no doubt under the cover of darkness…HONK!!!

After a long Friday…frequently, appropriately labeled FUF, at work, I made my way home (no nothing occurred to me on the way home). Once home, I was watching some silly Brit movie..The Wrong Box, 1966. I was half assed paying attention when a character in the movie…a self righteous acting woman (temperance as a cause) appeared with an S insignia on her collar…half asleep it occurred to me…’what is that S for, I wonder’…’the Salvation Army?’ Stay with me, I’m getting there…and low and behold, it just popped into my brain as if by divine providence…the ‘something completely different’ topic was born: the origin of the Salvation Army. No really it’s kind of interesting.

Now That Logo sounds like some serious happening stuff going down in the redemption business.

The Salvation Army was modeled after the military, with its own flag (or colours) and its own hymns, often with words set to popular and folkloric tunes sung in the pubs. Booth and the other soldiers in “God’s Army” would wear the Army’s own uniform, for meetings and ministry work. He became the “General” and his other ministers were given appropriate ranks as “officers”. Other members became “soldiers”. When William Booth became known as the General, Catherine , his wife, was known as the “Mother of The Salvation Army”. William preached to the poor, and Catherine spoke to the wealthy, gaining financial support for their work. The ‘S’ best expressed the way in which the Army administered to the ‘down and outs’: first, soup; second, soap; and finally, salvation.”

Now I know I post a few photographs here for my photographer aficionados. I particularly like old photographs and came upon some oldies while researching the Salvation Army. The Cabinet Card Gallery and the Salvation Army (and other topics). What you might ask is a Cabinet Card?

Now admit it…when I was relating the whole Tonya Harding~honking incident at the traffic signal, you thought ok this guy must have run out of his meds and can’t re-up until Monday. But, now you see the beauty of my thinking….right?

You do remember Tonya Harding don’t you? Nancy Kerrigan?

Tomorrow’s Every Day in May Outdoor Blogger’s Challenge Topic: Mother’s Day