08
Jul
12

Spider In Your Shoe? Whamo!

My Sis-in-Law stuck her left foot in her shoe and whamo! The spider was apparently worse for wear despite the bites. And, as often happens, my sister-in-law was certain it was a ‘brown recluse‘. She hasn’t traveled to the South lately. It is unlikely she has handled any transported materials that could have transported a ‘brown recluse spider’ into her farm house near Newberg, Oregon. Regardless of what kind of spider, the bites caused considerable swelling and pain. The bad juju was just starting to subside. SwittersB

VENOMOUS AMERICAN ARACHNIDS

The United States has five groups of spiders that can cause serious injury. The black widow and yellow sac spider are found throughout the country, although the latter’s range has yet to be mapped precisely. The hobo spider has expanded its range in the Pacific Northwest, while the brown recluse is found in the South and lower Midwest. Other recluses are found in the Southwest. Are there Brown Recluses in the PacNW? People seem convinced. (Legend: Purple, black widow; yellow, yellow sac; red, hobo spider; green, brown recluse; blue, other recluses). Spiders in General…pics

Map by Greg Foley

                                                                                   


9 Responses to “Spider In Your Shoe? Whamo!”


  1. 1 Chelsea Doughty
    September 2, 2012 at 3:15 PM

    Do you have any pictures after this picture was taken? My mom was bitten a few weeks ago and it looked identical however, it then became a bubbled blister. And now it’s black necrotic. I am a registered nurse but unfortunately I don’t know too much about this or a possible treatment except to remove the dead tissue. She has blood flow to the healthy tissue, but not the dark part that’s necrotic. Any response is greatly appreciated!

    • September 2, 2012 at 3:47 PM

      Chelsea, I am not in a position to respond right now. Go to search box on right side of main page and query Spider Bite in Search Box. Go to brown recluse post dated May 24, 2010. Not saying the bite is a Brown Recluse but the pictures in the post show progressive damage and necrosis. May have be of help.

  2. July 23, 2012 at 11:25 AM

    Thanks for reading one of my blogs. I looked yours up and decided to follow after seeing the blog about the spider bite-I study arachnids and other creatures, so you might enjoy some of my articles on them. Some are listed under the arachnids category, others arent. I invite you to follow my blog! beebeesworld

  3. July 9, 2012 at 3:41 AM

    Hi Gary, sending healing and light to your sister. I was bitten by a brown recluse in 2009. It took a LONG time for my leg to heal and left a pretty funky scar. An aboriginal friend helped me reframe the experience at the time, which was excruciating and disgusting – as spider medicine. She asked me to think about the spider as trying to get my attention and slow me down completely so I could concentrate internally. So please pass along my warm thoughts to your sister and welcome her to the family. kindness coming your way. Beth

  4. July 9, 2012 at 3:40 AM

    Makes me afraid these kind of things… Seems it was so bad, how is she now.
    Thanks and Love, nia

    • July 9, 2012 at 7:43 AM

      Hello Nia,
      She is finally getting better. It was very painful because of the swelling and the whatever may have been shot into her. She was not able to identify the spider given the response after the bites. You can picture the scene…poor spider had no chance! :-)

      • July 9, 2012 at 8:42 AM

        I am so glad to hear that she is getting better. I can imagine how painful… always makes me afraid of them… so much… so much :) You can’t believe but even I can’t take their pictures too, :) what a photographer I am, imagine! Love, nia

        • July 9, 2012 at 9:12 AM

          There were few things my dad was afraid of. He lost a brother to a rat bite, so he hated rats. He was even more afraid of spiders having come from the South (U.S.) I on the other hand don’t care of rattlesnakes.


Leave a Reply

Below @ “The Past” you can search back to 2008 month by month

July 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
Count your blessings, instead of your troubles. You attract more blessings by acknowledging the ones you already have, no matter how small they may seem.

Welcome to SwittersB & Fly Fishing. Please Share, Comment & Like Away!

Please subscribe just below. Use the Search box to search topics.

Enter your email address to subscribe to the SwittersB blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,754 other followers

The Past

Dutch Meyers Said…….

"Fight 'til hell freezes over, then fight 'em on the ice." Search Box Below

Award

SwittersB Visitors Stopping By

230!!! Countries Visiting SwittersB~Thank You!!!

free counters

Blog Stats: There are lies, damn lies and statistics

  • 3,577,704 Visits/Views (WP Original Stat~Pre Flag Counter Stats)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,754 other followers