14
Dec
13

Outdoors: When is the best time to fish for trout?

Time is a precious commodity for many trying to get on the water to wet a line. Unless you are a fish bum or perhaps a retiree, with that window in life to fish when ever…where ever, life is too compacted with duties, obligations, honey do’s and just mental/physical fatigue to overly plan re the question: “When is the best time to fish for trout?”

Trout net Hands BuckyBarometric pressures trending up or down…moon phases and light…temperatures (water/air)…sunlight and cloud cover…time of day (dawn, dusk, midday) all enter the discussions as indicators of when, where and how to fish. I won’t refute any of those considerations. 

Fun MeterIn the end, I go when I can get there for as long as I can be there…then I consider the above within the window of time I have been allotted. Some of my initial considerations are do I know what insects and food sources are in the water I am standing beside, in or on this time of year? Do I know under what circumstances they will hatch, emerge, crawl, forage (temperature, light, location) this time of year? This requires some in advance studying.

If I have not been able to do the home work then I just relax, study, observe, experiment and have fun trying to solve the puzzle. On many camping trips (multi-day events) my first day is a wash. By the second or third day, I am most often dialed in to location, timing and the what/how.

Damsel Dry Inhaled SB

Otherwise, I am well armed (fly pattern options…don’t freak out), patient and observant and make the most of the moment. I accumulate knowledge over time for certain locations and then note if my observations lead to consistent results. We know enough that strategic certainty is sometimes elusive. So be it….. Sometimes my propensity toward OCD over planning and thinking robs me of the greater picture, the greater experiences. How about you? Trout Caught & Safely Released

0 Responses to “Outdoors: When is the best time to fish for trout?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Below @ “The Past” you can search back to 2008 month by month

December 2013
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
Count your blessings, instead of your troubles. You attract more blessings by acknowledging the ones you already have, no matter how small they may seem.

Welcome to SwittersB & Fly Fishing. Please Share, Comment & Like Away!

Please subscribe just below. Use the Search box to search topics.

Enter your email address to subscribe to the SwittersB blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,730 other followers

The Past

Dutch Meyers Said…….

"Fight 'til hell freezes over, then fight 'em on the ice." Search Box Below

Award

SwittersB Visitors Stopping By

230!!! Countries Visiting SwittersB~Thank You!!!

free counters

Blog Stats: There are lies, damn lies and statistics

  • 3,572,127 Visits/Views (WP Original Stat~Pre Flag Counter Stats)

SwittersB’s Map of Visitors (Fun) Open and Click Here on the Map

Sic Semper Tyrannis

There’s No Accounting For Taste; Search the Blog for Much More. Thanks for Visiting!


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,730 other followers