08
Apr
08

Henry Hoffman, Chickabou & Tinker Toys

I was researching chickabou because I was going to tie up a chickabou fly and post it. I thought I might as well have some basic info to incorporate. Then I saw this blog sight for Mr. Hoffman and I thought it better to tell you my experiences with Henry Hoffman. First, he doesn’t know me I am sure. He might say I look familiar from fly tying expos, but I have only been near him a dozen times over the years.

However, I have been pleased to observe the following about the man. He is ever pleasant. He does not exhibit the pomposity and bafoonery of too many self important men in the fly fishing arena.

He talks straight and shares what he knows. He reminds me of my dad: a bit unkempt,  blue collar, gentlemanly and even a bit shy at times. I don’t imagine Henry suffers fools very well, but I don’t think he would say so to the average know it all.

His fly tying station is quaint for sure, but watch him tie and you see it is functional even if partly of tinker toys. His flies are perfectly suitable for lake fishing as well as rivers. His novelty flies interest me little, but they do show a mischievious side to a man that has no doubt worked his tail off in life.

He is a NW phenom but his influence has spread far. I always look to see if Henry Hoffman is in attendance at any show I visit. It is refreshing to be in his presence and witness simplicity and pure functionality. Thank you, Henry.

http://flytyer.wordpress.com/2008/02/18/henry-hoffman-fly-tying-legend/

The above fly is nothing exceptional: a size 8 hook, two chickabou feathers. Tie in one to create the tail then spin the secured feather by the butt and then form a fuzzy rope and wrap. I could have incorporated a rib but in this instance I didn’t. Then tie in another feather and wrap a hackle collar. Henry would make it smaller. I am still learning how to use the various sized feathers on a chickabou cape. The bead is a glass bead. Henry said sometimes experiment and forget the typical metal beads of gold, silver, black, brass and try an odd colored bead. Also, it will aid the fly in riding more horizontal in the retrieve rather than the up then dive down retrieve. It is worth an experiment.

Don’t judge Henry Hoffman by my poor imitation of his flies.  See him for yourself…better yet sit down across from him and listen to him, even visit a bit. He will make you smile as you walk away…saying he’s a nice guy.   

  


0 Responses to “Henry Hoffman, Chickabou & Tinker Toys”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Below @ “The Past” you can search back to 2008 month by month

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Visitors

Map
Count your blessings, instead of your troubles. You attract more blessings by acknowledging the ones you already have, no matter how small they may seem.

Welcome to SwittersB & Exploring. Please Share, Comment & Like Away!

Please subscribe just below. Use the Search box to search topics.

Enter your email address to subscribe to the SwittersB blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,708 other followers

The Past

Dutch Meyers Said…….

"Fight 'til hell freezes over, then fight 'em on the ice." Search Box Below

231!!! Countries Visiting SwittersB~Thank You!!!

free counters

Blog Stats: There are lies, damn lies and statistics

  • 4,186,188 Visits/Views (WP Original Stat~Pre Flag Counter Stats)

Flickr Photos

Sic Semper Tyrannis

There’s No Accounting For Taste; Search the Blog for Much More. Thanks for Visiting!

C. S. Lewis on Do Gooder Tyranny

“Of all tyrannies, a tyranny sincerely exercised for the good of its victims may be the most oppressive. It would be better to live under robber barons than under omnipotent moral busybodies. The robber baron's cruelty may sometimes sleep, his cupidity may at some point be satiated; but those who torment us for our own good will torment us without end for they do so with the approval of their own conscience.”

