18
Nov
12

Fly Tying: Working the Kinks Out

I tied very little during the Summer. Most of my tying last year was in the Winter and trailed off into Spring as I assessed my fly boxes as pretty much complete. This past Spring/Summer really didn’t deplete my boxes that much. 

I have a partial tying ‘to do’ list in mind to include: some larger baitfish patterns for some Bass that need a comeuppance; Damsel dries (the few I had took a beating and provided some of the most fun dry fly fishing I have had in years); smaller-micro style Leech patterns in assorted colors; some basic Steelhead patterns probably with stinger hooks. I tied so much last time that I am stocked.

So, today I did what isn’t always productive for me…I just randomly tied and created and really did it to keep my rusty hand into tying. It showed I was rusty and disorganized. But, I always am when I lay off for several months. Now more disconcerting than my fumbling fingers is my fumbling eyesight and focusing the camera anymore. The slight blur is annoying. That will definitely be something to maybe improve upon this Winter…my macro work.

Chaos Caddis, Size 16 (That’s a creative way of saying it was over dubbed and messy.

2 Responses to “Fly Tying: Working the Kinks Out”


  1. November 19, 2012 at 6:48 AM

    Love the shot of the tools!


Leave a Reply

Below @ “The Past” you can search back to 2008 month by month

November 2012
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Welcome to SwittersB & Fly Fishing. Please Share, Comment & Like Away!

Please subscribe just below. Use the Search box to search topics.

Enter your email address to subscribe to the SwittersB blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,085 other followers

The Past

Dutch Meyers Said…….

"Fight 'til hell freezes over, then fight 'em on the ice." Search Box Below

Award

SwittersB Visitors Stopping By

228!!! Countries Visiting SwittersB~Thank You!!!

free counters

Blog Stats: There are lies, damn lies and statistics

  • 3,513,824 Visits/Views (WP Original Stat~Pre Flag Counter Stats)

SwittersB’s Map of Visitors (Fun) Open and Click Here on the Map

Swittters Twitters

Sic Semper Tyrannis

There’s No Accounting For Taste; Search the Blog for Much More. Thanks for Visiting!


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,085 other followers