09
Jul
15

Heed the warnings……

skin-freeze-cryo-cancer-SwittersB

A few years ago, I wrote about Moles & Malignant Melanoma in response to the abuse of my skin from too much sun and tanning beds in the old days. I have consistently cut back on intense sun exposure. I rarely lay in the sun and take the expected precautions with sunscreen, clothing and head gear. Yet, recently I had unusual skin activity on my forehead, nose and neck. The spot on the neck was most troublesome in appearance and irritation. Today, I visited the dermatologist and in short order, after a full body once over, the can of liquid nitrogen was produced and without much fanfare he commenced to freeze (‘burn’!) two spots on my forehead (previously frozen), two spots on my nose and one on my clavicle (this one was/is troublesome). My face and adjacent area suitably on fire, the doctor proceeded to warn me, yet again, to take better care of my self. 

‘beware the Ides of March.’ Shakespeare, 1599 (Julius Caesar)

Vanity, foolishness, just plain carelessness are my standards of skin care. The doctor joked, as he froze the spots, that he hoped I didn’t have any photo shoots/family portraits coming up in the next few weeks (the spots take 2-4 weeks to heal). The pre-cancerous cells are usually/eventually replaced with newer, healthier cells. I must, you must, do better in the great outdoors!

The doctor remarked that my problems were not just from some recent activities, but rather from a lifetime of recreating in the sun. Forewarned is forearmed as they say.


17 Responses to “Heed the warnings……”


  1. July 9, 2015 at 4:44 PM

    I take my skin care very seriously. I started this around 32 when I moved to a much sunnier place. Within months, I had a pile of new freckles and moles. Always with hats and sunscreen and glasses. So far, so good, but I’m fair and I worry all the more about it. I’m glad you were proactive about it.

  2. July 9, 2015 at 2:53 PM

    I’m just back from accompanying my hubby to have a squamous cell tumor removed from his ear. Plastic surgery required next week. Full blown cancer in less that 3 months from the first dry and itchy spot! As you say Gary, the damage is done way back in the past … and its now as we get older it can get triggered by over exposure.
    I would say more than moderation is needed😉

  3. July 9, 2015 at 9:24 AM

    I hope you live through this ordeal. We all need to get ourselves to the doctor for a check of our skin. I know my husband and I have always been outdoors in the sun and had many bad sunburns. Hope everyone heeds your warning.

  4. July 9, 2015 at 9:20 AM

    I try and stay away from Mr. Sun. He likes to burn me until I am red as a freshly made lobster. I get the redheads tan… LOL

  5. July 9, 2015 at 4:00 AM

    A further warning, Gary. I have to tell you that three of my friends in their eighties have this procedure on fairly regular occasions. The good news is that it is kept at bay,

  6. July 9, 2015 at 3:43 AM

    Unfortunately liquid nitrogen and I meet each other far too often. The damage was done in my childhood.

    • July 9, 2015 at 6:58 AM

      Ah, yes. At 4 y/o my Mom gabbed away on the party line for several hours while I played in the wading pool on a blistering hot day. I got the worst of sunburns. That was the earliest of many sunburns to follow. Later, the sun worship commenced. Moderation.


Leave a Reply

Below @ “The Past” you can search back to 2008 month by month

July 2015
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
Count your blessings, instead of your troubles. You attract more blessings by acknowledging the ones you already have, no matter how small they may seem.

Welcome to SwittersB & Exploring. Please Share, Comment & Like Away!

Please subscribe just below. Use the Search box to search topics.

Enter your email address to subscribe to the SwittersB blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,493 other followers

The Past

Dutch Meyers Said…….

"Fight 'til hell freezes over, then fight 'em on the ice." Search Box Below

231!!! Countries Visiting SwittersB~Thank You!!!

free counters

Blog Stats: There are lies, damn lies and statistics

  • 4,035,148 Visits/Views (WP Original Stat~Pre Flag Counter Stats)

Sic Semper Tyrannis

There’s No Accounting For Taste; Search the Blog for Much More. Thanks for Visiting!

C. S. Lewis on Do Gooder Tyranny

“Of all tyrannies, a tyranny sincerely exercised for the good of its victims may be the most oppressive. It would be better to live under robber barons than under omnipotent moral busybodies. The robber baron's cruelty may sometimes sleep, his cupidity may at some point be satiated; but those who torment us for our own good will torment us without end for they do so with the approval of their own conscience.”

