13
Sep
16

take care…

me-salmon river-SwittersB-Oregon

As some of you know, SwittersB & Exploring use to be SwittersB & Fly Fishing. I switched names because my interests had expanded into a broader arena, photography wise. That said, in the past, I frequently reminded readers to stay fit for safety reasons. I am ever more convinced of the need for maintaining strength and flexibility, particularly in the lower extremities if one is out hopping about on uneven terrain (see those shoreline rocks behind me).

I have taken several bad falls the last few years along rivers and trails, which ultimately required a complex surgery on my ankle this Spring (further I have damaged the back, wrists and elbows). The rehabilitative process is ongoing and not like it was even ten years ago.

Please maintain your foot, leg, hip, core strength especially if you are out moving about on uneven surfaces. Once older, the restorative consequences are sobering. Stay stronger, be safe!!!


16 Responses to “take care…”


  1. November 25, 2016 at 5:52 AM

    Yes I took a few spills myself never got hurt to bad but it has happened what a beautiful shot brother all the best Joseph

  2. September 14, 2016 at 8:39 AM

    Hope you are well. thanks for the reminder!

  3. September 14, 2016 at 2:22 AM

    Salutary, Gary. Hope you are OK

  4. September 14, 2016 at 1:48 AM

    Yes, you are so right. I fell earlier this year and refused knee surgery tho the damned thing won’t stop swelling despite the PT, ice, heat and creams. I AM determined to walk my land thus I do! And uneven it surely is. But I’ve sadly found that staying put, avoiding suffering and being fearful only leads to more, no? So walk on as Bono would say! 😉

    Do take care of you! And lovely to see you as well!

    • September 14, 2016 at 6:54 AM

      Thank you! Yes, it is difficult for the mind. Stay put and time is fleeting, the mind/soul isn’t replenished by being out there…..go out there and moan a lot later🙂 This is where the friend mutters the obligatory ‘it’s a bitch getting old’…which I detest🙂

  5. September 13, 2016 at 1:01 PM

    Glad to hear you are progressing – take care when clambering over those slippy rocks!🙂

  6. September 13, 2016 at 12:04 PM

    I remember the Fly Fishing title!!! I agree wholeheartedly on keeping fit and focused on core strength. Recovery at 61 is not the same as when I was 21!! To be able to walk and enjoy movement as we age depends upon how we take care of our body. Thanks for sharing this important message!!

  7. September 13, 2016 at 8:19 AM

    I understand fully!!! I am adamant that I maintain core strength, leg strength, and upper body strength with flexibility. Some of the hiking I do is dangerous and I must be strong. And yes I have seen with age it takes more work to stay fit. Good luck and please stay safe!!!❤

  8. September 13, 2016 at 8:04 AM

    How unfortunate! I wish you a speedy recovery!🙂

  9. September 13, 2016 at 7:56 AM

    I do so understand. When my blog started, I was traveling around the country in an RV. Now I’m a non-wandering wanderer and so my blog has taken on more of a personal public journal aspect, meaning simply what flows through my mind that’s printable. Good luck


Leave a Reply

Below @ “The Past” you can search back to 2008 month by month

September 2016
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
Count your blessings, instead of your troubles. You attract more blessings by acknowledging the ones you already have, no matter how small they may seem.

Welcome to SwittersB & Exploring. Please Share, Comment & Like Away!

Please subscribe just below. Use the Search box to search topics.

Enter your email address to subscribe to the SwittersB blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,491 other followers

The Past

Dutch Meyers Said…….

"Fight 'til hell freezes over, then fight 'em on the ice." Search Box Below

231!!! Countries Visiting SwittersB~Thank You!!!

free counters

Blog Stats: There are lies, damn lies and statistics

  • 4,034,495 Visits/Views (WP Original Stat~Pre Flag Counter Stats)

Sic Semper Tyrannis

There’s No Accounting For Taste; Search the Blog for Much More. Thanks for Visiting!

C. S. Lewis on Do Gooder Tyranny

“Of all tyrannies, a tyranny sincerely exercised for the good of its victims may be the most oppressive. It would be better to live under robber barons than under omnipotent moral busybodies. The robber baron's cruelty may sometimes sleep, his cupidity may at some point be satiated; but those who torment us for our own good will torment us without end for they do so with the approval of their own conscience.”

