23
Sep
16

So close, yet so far….

rr-tracks-oregon-swittersb-horizon


8 Responses to “So close, yet so far….”


  1. 1 craig
    September 25, 2016 at 7:12 AM

    ahhh…canon, apple and adobe…the terrifying triumvirate of imaging.

    I had asked because some your photos had a kind of HDR vibe and I haven’t found a cure for curiosity.

    in my own work unless i’m taking specimen shots I tend towards “artsy”.
    I find that way I can save my mediocre shots from total obscurity (I take a LOT of mediocre images).

    thanks

    • September 25, 2016 at 7:44 AM

      Ha! I don’t use HDR so much…not sure I care for it in a natural setting…I try to limit saturation and limit the ‘sharpening’ to avoid halo and noise. I do play with clarity, contrast and exposure and often tone down greens and blues. I am far from adept with any of the apps and probably why I like flower/rose shots because they kind of speak for themselves w/o needing any help. I too take a lot of mediocre shots while experimenting and trying to force myself away from Auto into the M mode world and tripods. Many of my shots are handheld on the fly while out fishing and I am in a hurry so I just snap and hope and get back to fishing. Like today’s shot was out on a lake, line sinking, when I saw the darkness and rays penetrating through….dug out the camera and took quite a few shots as it changed then got back to working the fly.

      • 3 craig
        September 25, 2016 at 8:53 AM

        i was really taken with HDR initially
        it has been used so much that i hesitate to use it unless i am after that specific look
        i do some tone mapping

        you mention halo
        most often I don’t like it however I took some pastoral landscapes with a Fuji x30 (small sensor / large image) and to get the finished size and sharpness I wanted I ended up with significant halo
        funny thing is the image looked quite painterly and has found a home on several screen wallpapers
        serendipity or unintended consequences?

        when i’m on the water I keep a little waterproof Nikon AW110 on a lanyard in one my shirt pockets
        the sensor is small but it takes great pictures

        I don’t use auto settings except on the Nikon and i’m way too lazy to go manual again (well except for moon shots)

        on all my other cameras I go with aperture priority and limit ISO (each camera has its own foibles)
        though I do use shutter priority when shooting hummingbirds if the light is good

        tripods…great tools…but what a pain to drag into the bush
        I shoot pentax and their built-in “shake reduction” actually works so unless it’s dark or i’m using a long lens I now forgo the burden

        as always it is great “talking” to you

        later

  2. 5 Sheridan Johnson
    September 24, 2016 at 2:17 PM

    Railroad tracks are my favorite!

  3. 6 craig
    September 24, 2016 at 7:14 AM

    how very “Perils of Pauline”

    the railroad and state cops around here have been taking themselves quite seriously lately

    but I love these shots
    some are so cool it might be worth being a splat to get them

    I know I shouldn’t ask you to expose your magic but I am…what software do you use for post?

    • September 24, 2016 at 8:00 AM

      Lightroom 3…I haven’t upgraded. I use the LR for tweaks to clarity, de-noise, exposure and rarely saturation/color manipulations. I have several other apps via Apple but rarely use them (still learning really how to use them for obvious changes) because they are for the more obvious artsy alterations. Re the train tracks, I was most careful looking over my shoulders as around here that seems to be the result of not hearing it approach from the rear.


Leave a Reply

Below @ “The Past” you can search back to 2008 month by month

September 2016
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
Count your blessings, instead of your troubles. You attract more blessings by acknowledging the ones you already have, no matter how small they may seem.

Welcome to SwittersB & Exploring. Please Share, Comment & Like Away!

Please subscribe just below. Use the Search box to search topics.

Enter your email address to subscribe to the SwittersB blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,491 other followers

The Past

Dutch Meyers Said…….

"Fight 'til hell freezes over, then fight 'em on the ice." Search Box Below

231!!! Countries Visiting SwittersB~Thank You!!!

free counters

Blog Stats: There are lies, damn lies and statistics

  • 4,034,358 Visits/Views (WP Original Stat~Pre Flag Counter Stats)

Sic Semper Tyrannis

There’s No Accounting For Taste; Search the Blog for Much More. Thanks for Visiting!

C. S. Lewis on Do Gooder Tyranny

“Of all tyrannies, a tyranny sincerely exercised for the good of its victims may be the most oppressive. It would be better to live under robber barons than under omnipotent moral busybodies. The robber baron's cruelty may sometimes sleep, his cupidity may at some point be satiated; but those who torment us for our own good will torment us without end for they do so with the approval of their own conscience.”

