Inspired to aspire. It is easy to be inspired by wonderful people. It is harder to take that inspiration and carry out our aspirations toward something satisfying. They are not the same are they? 

At one point in my life, I was inspired by my dad. I have aspired throughout my life to match his sense of duty, courage and to avoid his demons. He was a good man. 

For many years, I worked with much older men. They were great communicators, fearless and they were gentle-men. They inspired me to listen. They inspired me to solve. I have aspired my adult life to maintain the skills of listening and solving and to talk as a gentle-man.

There are several other men and women that have inspired me by their acts and their steadfast dignity and courage. I can only say I aspire to their good deeds, their patience and self sacrifice. Peace of mind, peace of heart. Inspired and aspiring. 

Morning Beauty

The sad thing about the fly fishing scene is there is too often a level of Alpha conduct that precludes really getting to know anyone on an intimate, open level with out a lot of time spent sorting through the posturing. It’s a sport to many. That begs competition and winning. It begs performance perfection. I fly fish for different reasons. That is why I personally abhor fly fishing competitions. That’s not to say I don’t also struggle, even with my own self competition. Bad juju.

Generally, I don’t often see the behaviors that inspire me in this scene. But, please don’t get me wrong. I have corresponded with men and women fly fishers that by virtue of their correspondence and in meetings, I can sense their gentle ways, their generosity and comfort with self. By virtue of their core values and demeanor they inspire me to also aspire toward that easy going, kind way. The other day, I wrote about ‘Patience’ and more patience. My achilles. My nemesis. I am moved by those that exhibit patience, manners and ease. Inspired and aspired….yes indeed.

TOMORROW’S EVERY DAY IN MAY CHALLENGE TOPIC: FISH PHILOSOPHY